The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers

The National Science and Technology Council (NTSC) anounces a new award that will recognize and honor outstanding scientists and engineers at the outset of their independent research careers. The NSTC was established to coordinate the multiagency science and technology policy-making process, and to implement and integrate the President’s Science and technology policy agenda across the federal government.

The Presidential Award embodies the high priority placed by the government on maintaining the leadership position of the United States in science by producing outstanding scientists and engineers and nurturing their continued development. The Awards will identify a cadre of outstanding scientists and engineers who will broadly advance science and the missions important to the participating agencies.

The Presidential Awards are intended to recognize some of the finest scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the twenty-first century. The Awards will foster innovative and far-reaching developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the nation’s future.

The Presidential Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U. S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. The awards will be conferred annually at the White House following recommendations from participating agencies. To be eligible for a Presidential Award, an individual must be a U. S. citizen, national, or permanent resident. Each Presidential Award will be of five years duration.

The participating agencies are:

National Science Foundation
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Environmental Protection Agency
Department of Veterans Affairs
Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health
Department of Energy
Department of Defense
Department of Agriculture
Department of Commerce